Be Prepared

Be Prepared A gripping and hilarious middle grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya s Ghost All Vera wants to do is fit in but that s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs Her friends live in fancy

  • Title: Be Prepared
  • Author: Vera Brosgol
  • ISBN: 9781626724440
  • Page: 290
  • Format: Hardcover
  • A gripping and hilarious middle grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya s Ghost.All Vera wants to do is fit in but that s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps Vera s single mother can t afford that sort of luxury, but there s one summer camp in her price ranA gripping and hilarious middle grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya s Ghost.All Vera wants to do is fit in but that s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps Vera s single mother can t afford that sort of luxury, but there s one summer camp in her price range Russian summer camp.Vera is sure she s found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined And nothing could prepare her for all the cool girl drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol s Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship.

    • Unlimited [Paranormal Book] Û Be Prepared - by Vera Brosgol ↠
      290 Vera Brosgol
    • thumbnail Title: Unlimited [Paranormal Book] Û Be Prepared - by Vera Brosgol ↠
      Posted by:Vera Brosgol
      Published :2020-01-10T08:36:25+00:00


    About “Vera Brosgol

    • Vera Brosgol

      Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five She received a diploma in Classical Animation from Sheridan College, and currently works at Laika Inc in Portland, Oregon drawing storyboards for feature animation She has done illustration work for clients such as Nickelodeon, Sony Computer Entertainment, and Simon Schuster Her first graphic novel, Anya s Ghost, was published in 2011 by First Second Books.She loves knitting, baking, and trying not to kill her plants She hopes you are enjoying looking at her drawings



    808 thoughts on “Be Prepared

    • I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher, via my work, in order to give an honest review. Be Prepared reminds me of being the kid who couldn't go to camp because they were too poor to do so, in the best possible way though. Add to that she makes it so easy to relate to her despite the fact that she was Russian, and I am not in any shape, fashion, or from. This is a great addition to the graphic novels that can be recommended to kids that come in looking for something similar t [...]




    • There is a special circle of Hell in childhood designated to summer camp, at least for some of us, and this newest from Brosgol captures it perfectly. While I don't share the same experiences of being Russian in America, I certainly sympathized with the essence of her childhood--when you're already an outcast, you dream that you can get away from your present problems, but they generally always followed you no matter how far away you put yourself physically. I love that Brosgol doesn't sugarcoat [...]


    • The illustrations were by far my favourite part of this book. By turns funny, sweet, and poignant, they really brought a depth to what might have otherwise been a fairly typical outsider story.It was definitely intriguing to see a second generation Russian immigrant story, as that's not a sub-genre you see much of, and even though this was very 'slice of life' instead of what one might think of as a fully fleshed out story, the author's afterword really seals it as a book that deserves to be on [...]


    • Although aimed at the middle grade reader, if you're an adult who ever went to summer camp and found yourself not among the popular, sneaking-out-to-make-out crowd, you'll find yourself wincing in sympathy with Vera's every misadventure. Both delightful and cringe-inducing. Brosgol's newest graphic novel is sure to appeal to fans of Raina Telgemeier and Victoria Jamieson.


    • Love, love, love everything about this book. Cannot wait to display it in the library! Being a kid is hard. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Being part of a single-parent, immigrant family with customs much different than those of your classmates? Well, for Vera that's a whole new level of difficult. Vera Brosgol has penned a heartwarming (and at times heartwrenching) story of time spent at summer camp, desperately trying to fit in and enjoy herself. As the back matter explains, the book is [...]


    • The illustrations and strong relatability definitely pushed this to 5 stars. This is a perfect book for any middle aged girl.As a 9(almost 10)-year-old girl from a poor, immigrant family, going to camp was a big deal for Vera. In the beginning of the book, it shows that she doesn't really fit in with the girls in her class at home. When she finds out about a Russian summer camp (where the church pays for part of the cost) she begs her mom to let her go. When she gets there, she faces a whole new [...]


    • I loved “Anya’s Ghost” so I had high expectations for “Be Prepared.” It disappoint at all!Vera wants to go to summer camp like her other friends do every summer. Her mom can only afford Russian camp. Vera heads off with her brother to camp for two weeks. Summer camp turns out to be a lot harder and less perfect than Vera expected. Her tent mates are older and are manipulative, the other girls at camp aren’t nice, and Vera is partially responsible for the girls losing the flag in capt [...]


    • Vera - too Russian, too poor, to weird, for the kids in her neighborhood - decides to hedge her bets by attending a Russian summer camp in a last-ditch effort to find somewhere she belongs. Instead she finds more of the same. Her cabin-mates ignore her at best, she's terrible at capture the flag, and the only place to poop is a hole in the ground. It isn't until she stops worrying about trying to fit in or impress other kids in that she's able to enjoy herself - important lessons for us all to t [...]


    • This is fun and sweet and cute and I liked it a lot. I love the third culture kid aspect so much, and I love how relatable and innocent Vera’s character is. It’s so easy to identify with Vera in trying to fit in with the kids from her neighborhood and then even find friends with her “real” culture. Only thing: I understand why the author added the part about periods, and it IS super-relatable, but I’m worried it will prevent suburban moms from buying the book for their kids. And they S [...]


    • This pseudomemoir brings you right back to the emotional and confusing experience of being nine and awkward. It's fun and relatable, even for those of us who didn't also hsve to contend with being an immigrant searching for belonging. As fun as the story is, it's the expressiveness in the artwork that earned this one a 5. Once it hits the shelves, I'll eagerly share my favorite panels everywhere - but since I read this as an ARC (thanks to Gab's Barnes and Noble copy) I'll wait until then. Seems [...]


    • Be Prepared took me right back to all the school camps I ever went on! Brosgol draws a lively account of an often lonely experience, with its highs (finally making a friend) and lows (someone stealing your team's flag while you're on the long drop). A great middle grade comic for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile and Drama and Victoria Jamieson's Roller GirlC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


    • I picked up the ARC for this from work. I loved Brosgol’s illustrations, as always, and enjoyed the humorous look into her childhood. I never went to camp but I imagine I would’ve had a very similar experience to this story, especially in regards to the bathroom. I think this will be a popular middle grade read this summer and that many kids will relate to Brosgol’s story of searching for friendship when you feel like an outsider. I hope she writes about her move to London next!


    • It would of course be difficult to follow up a masterpiece like Anya's Ghost for anyone. I read an ARC through NetGalley and am not sure if the green accent color is the final color - but I found it jarring to read in that tone of green. This is definitely a unique "girl goes to camp" story, but I found the peripheral characters to be a little one sided. I wanted to spend more time with the main character and was not made to feel any care for the other characters.


    • I liked this story. It felt very real with the ups and downs of relationships during the tween/teen girl years. The illustrations were great (although the color palette took some getting used to). The ending felt a bit under-developed.




    • I love camp books. I only went once and I didn't have a great time, but I love reading about them anyway. This was a cute, quick middle grade reads that most kids will enjoy.



    • Great camp story about being an outsider: lots of humor and honesty in both the words and the images.



    • I have been a fan of Vera Brosgol for a while now, so I was thrilled to see a graphic novel of hers pop up on NetGalley. I was not disappointed, either -- this time she's written a memoir and graphic novel about her experience attending Russian summer camp as a young teen. Vera's struggles to fit in with American kids as well as Russian campers feels universal, as does her brief inclination to try and fit in by any means necessary (giving the popular older girls her candy; joining in a brief bul [...]


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *